The Mount Inn at Stanton - logo
 
Home page
About the Mount Inn
History
Menu
Ales & wines
Location & Contact Details
information
links
reviews
Events
 
The Mount Inn at Stanton
Nr Broadway
Worcs.
WR12 7NE

For reservations please call
01386 584316

Reviews

We hope you find the reviews below helpful - you are welcome to submit your own using the form at the end of the page!
Simon Bicknell, 14th October 2013
A Big thankyou to all concerned.
A birthday treat with my Wife,Daughter & Grand Daughters for Sunday Lunch. (13/10/2013)
ALL of us had magnificent food.Excellent,friendly service.
FAULTLESS.
Lesley & Brian Winograd, 14th September 2013
We live in London, but we bought a house in Stanton almost two years ago (lucky us) and the first thing we want to do when we arrive is to puff up the hill to the Mount for a warm welcome, a cool drink and some fabulous food. Everyone we have taken there has loved the ambiance, the setting and of course the cuisine. Lunch or dinner, it's always a highlight of our life in Stanton. Pip has been a great, helpful friend to us, too. Thank you!
Ruth from Sydney, 6th September 2013
A welcome pitstop on my walk through the village, a pint of lemon, lime and bitters and a packet of crisps set me on my way to Broadway!

I highly recommend this gem!
J Fryer, 19th August 2013
Really enjoyed the delicious lunch today, especially the excellent chips, full of flavour,
golden, cooked to perfection. Keep on cooking!
Claire, 30th July 2013
It has been a year today since my husband and I got away for a wonderful month of traveling England, France, Italy and Switzerland, this had been our first trip of this sort in our 23 years of marriage. Much planning went into it, including being lucky enough to find this wonderful gem of a place tucked into the hills. After a walk along the Cotswold Way, my sister, uncle, husband and myself tucked in for a charming, comfortable, delicious and oh so memorable evening of fine food and surroundings. Now I sit at my kitchen table in California dreaming of a return. Lovely place, food and kitty! Thanks for providing such a good memory.
Bob & Shan South, 12th July 2013
Hi Pip & Karl,

Just had to say thank you for making last evening so special. As well as the lovely things that we have come to expect of The Mount such as amazing food and fantastic service in the best ever location in The Cotswolds, the summer extras were really appreciated. Some of the group just couldn’t believe the fact that the jugs of iced water were there on the tables waiting for us with a glass poured for everyone! These things simply don’t happen!

As usual, Pip and the team made us feel so welcome from the start and Karl coming out of his kitchen at the end of a busy evening to say hello was the icing on the cake for everyone. I know that he is reluctant to have his photo taken so it was nice that he agreed. I’ll email some pictures when I sort them out. One of the group commented that the whole experience was like a fairy tale (I’ve heard this said before).

Thank you again, Kingsway will certainly be back and Shan and I will pop over with our own house guests in a week or so.

Best wishes, Bob
Mike and Suzy D, 3rd May 2013
Thanks to all at the Mount

Fantastic menu,service and welcome, as always. Thanks for a lovely late spring evening.

Regards

Mike and Suzy
Mike and Suzy Dargan, 15th February 2013
February 14th 2013

Once again a complete success,in atmosphere, menu,service and welcome. Thanks Pip a lovely way for us to enjoy Valentines Day.

Mike and Suzy
Nigel, Angela, Kristian & William Adamson, 1st October 2012
Fabulous food, friendly service. Best ever suet pud & lamb shank. Molly (our cockapoo) made to feel welcome as well! Thanks.
Sarah Arrowsmith, 18th September 2012
We visited The Mount Inn yesterday and found the bar staff very friendly, the views glorious and the food delicious. We will definitely be visiting again soon! Would fully recommend this pub.
Chris & Kay O'Sullivan, 16th July 2012
We moved to Broadway about a year ago and nobody told us about The Mount Inn at Stanton - they told us lots of other places but I think they wanted to keep this to themselves. We ate there on 15th July and immediately booked a table for 6 for the following weekend.

Great location, great pub, great food and most important of all, great people !

And now we're not going to tell anyone else either !
Kevin & Laura, 22nd June 2012
We arrived in Stanton on Monday 18th June whilst walking the Cotswold way. We had been booked in at The Mount for our evening meal and what a fantastic experience it was. The Landlady was lovely and the staff were really welcoming. The Local ale was the best we have had anywhere and the food could not be beaten, it was absolutely delicious. Thank you so much for a lovely evening.
Grace Gregory, 4th June 2012
very good, very good!great pub!
keith & sue chamberlain, 24th May 2012
My wife and I live in nearby Broadway and are regular customers of the Mount Inn.The food, staff and location are absolutely fabulous and Pipa always makes you feel like one of the family.
Working in the local Tourist Office I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Mount Inn
roger & pat Smith, 23rd May 2012
On a day trip to the Cotswolds, primarily Broadway we called in at 'The Mount' for lunch. I last stopped off there 24 years ago whilst walking the Cotswold Way and remembered when food was ready it was broadcast over a Tanoy system, thankfuly that no longer happens.The staff whilst young were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble and they knew the job. We sat outside with a bottle of wine and views to die for, my fish and chips were excelent but far too much, my wife had the steak with Parie topping (a blend of numerous hearbs and garlic) the steak was top quality and the topping added to the meal.The chef later asked if we liked the topping and when my wife said how much offered to forward the recipe. This venue would be lovely on a winters evening and to view a sunset on any clear evening. We shall visit again with friends.
Sheila Mitchell, 23rd May 2012
Found the pub by accident but were delighted with the ambience, service, food and location. Friendly and efficient staff served an excellent meal (fish cakes, scallops, berry cream brulee)remarkably quickly - we had an appointment in the area and didn't have much time. Will definitely return to sample the rest of the menu.
Keith and Sue Ward, 12th May 2012
Sue and I followed Pip and Karl from the Plough at Cold Aston when they moved to the Mount at Stanton a few years ago. Pip bubles and Karl rocks ! We are regulars and always recommend the Mount to those visiting the Cotswolds. Personally, I have been going to the Mount since 1985 but Pip and Karl have made it what it is today -- an amazing pub, brilliant food (cheers Karl) and an ambience beyond compare.
Michelle Dakin, 7th April 2012
Amazing place, I arrived from East London to visit a friend and was treated like a queen to your wonderful Inn. The views were breathtaking, your hosting was delightful and if I had met the chef I would have pinned him/her to the floor kissed them then proposed.....I had the chicken breast with leek and bacon in a cream sauce and then to top my experience I had your ice-cream.
Well done to all your staff who work hard together in order to make The Mount Inn a place to remember (and want to come back to).
Thank you kindly.
Michelle

PHILIP & MAUREEN HEAD, 13th March 2012
We have after 12 months now settled into our new home in Badsey just a short distance from Pip & Karl. I was amused at a recent review, saying that the new owners had taken over this fantastic Pub, this is not so, Pip & Karl have themselves made it into a fantastic pub. We have been so many times and have never been disappointed with the food or the welcome. An establishment is always judged on it's most recent meal. We have no reason to stay away, good luck for 2012
Heike and Trevor Collingwood, 11th February 2012
We stayed 3 days in the cotswolds, but came twice to your lovely,cosy pub with open fire.
The staff was so friendly and helpful .
Our dog, a black Labrador, was made very welcome.
Thank you !
Val and Kevin, 15th January 2012
Thank you for a lovely Sunday Lunch. Very generous portion of Chicken Liver Pate, a beautifully executed rare sirloin steak; Crab Cakes were great (didn't think the tomato sauce went with them very well) but that was my preference and not a criticism of the dish, Rabbit on a celeriac puree and lovely fresh vegetables; potatoe dauphinoise and hand crafted chips made a supper meal; sorry no room to try the desserts. Would definately recomend it to friends and will certainly go again.
Chris and Ruth Winters, 1st January 2012, 1st January 2012
What a lovely way to kick start the New Year with our visit to The Mount for Sunday lunch. Food and service gave excellent value as always and thanks to our waitress for the 'Hops in a Box' tip that will enhance our Christmas decorations next year - The Mount's display is magnificent!
Gail and Owen Walsh, 27th November 2011
We selected this pub from The Good Pub Guide whilst staying at nearby Broadway. We have not been so impressed by a pub for a long time. Friendly and helpful welcome; service that was efficient, friendly and faultless; delicious, tasty fish & chips which we all 3 of us enjoyed; a real buzz on a Saturday lunchtime; excellent views. Admittedly the prices are not cheap but then you do get quality in everything. Despite living a 45 mintue drive away we can't wait to return particularly on a sunny day to take advantage of the attractive terrace.
Peter Sumner & William, 27th November 2011
I left the UK last year for the Channel Islands and, apart from one little detail, I am as happy as a chicken's liver before it was made into a pâté. Yep, you guessed it. I'm missing the bar at the Mount and my chocolate labrador, William, is missing Pip's bonios and the huge log fire. Maybe I should just go home?
Alison & Hilary, 24th November 2011
We are regular visitors to the Mount Inn at Stanton. Pip is always so warm and welcoming which creates a wonderful atmosphere in which to relax and enjoy excellent food combined with consistent and professional service. The food is exceptional with a wide range of specials all of which are excellent value for money.
Philip & Maureen Head, 9th September 2011
We moved to Badsey in March 2011 and was recommended to visit the Mount. This had to be the best advice ever, as we have taken so many of our friends during this time. The service is always friendly and efficient, Pip (Mine Host)is delightful & attentive , and we have never had any cause to complain as the food is excellent at all times. A gem in these recessionary times.
Jane Galer, 8th September 2011
One of the very best places to eat in the cotswolds. Had several fantasic meals. And one of the best views ever. And only a 5 min drive from where we live. Jane Pete Jack & Grace
Bob and Coral, 25th July 2011
We visited the Mount Inn one lunchtime this July while walking with friends. We were so impressed with the service that we decided to reserve a table for the following evening. This proved to be a great success. The pub was buzzing with customers, so we expected a wait for our orders to be taken and the food to arrive. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the efficient way we were treated by the staff who, although very busy, were attentive and friendly. Our starters and main courses arrived promptly and were delicious and the manageress even remembered from our first visit that we wanted sticky toffee puddings which she had ensured were available that evening. Altogether an exceptional experience which we hope to repeat if we are ever in that area again.
Simon & Angela Fewins, 22nd June 2011
Recently we rented a hoiday cottage in the beautiful village of Stanton.What an absolute gem of a country pub, great for just a drink, wonderful for food also.The staff were attentive to your requirments and requests, nothing was to difficult.The food was beautiful presented on every occasion.I have no problem what so ever recommending this establishment to any visitor.Good luck to all the staff in there future career choices, albeit in the food industry or not, you all deserve it.
Angela & Ian, 16th May 2011
What a fabulous place this is to enjoy a drink and a meal. Set in a fantastic location, serving delicious food with friendly and helpful staff and a lovely landlady to greet you. What more could you ask for?
Jim Barry, 16th May 2011
We have just returned from a short break in Buckland and on the recommendation of the owners of the B&B where we stayed, they suggested visiting the Mount Inn for our evening meals. I am so pleased that they did, because we were very impressed with the varied menu that was available and the ecellent standard of meals provided. In addition, the attention of service given by the staff was second to none and I was only too pleased to recognise this with a gratuity they rightly deserved. We returned three times during our break and each time the place was full, so I was pleased that we reserved our table each time. I wish that we had a similar establishment in Hampshire, I know that we would return time after time. I can highly recommend the Mount Inn and wish all the staff there a very successful future. Based on our experience I am sure that they will achieve this.
Jan and John Poultney Wombourne Staffordshire, 16th May 2011
What a find!!! Cannot say enough about this gem of a pub plus the staff. Excellent food and such a warm welcome. Not to be missed.
david and julia williams, 10th November 2010
we have just spent 3 glorious days in stanton-and ate every night at the mount inn.what a lovely warm welcome we had each night-cosy log fire burning merrily and the food was out of this world - delicious..simply superb-thoroughly recommended..thank you
Helen and Iain Cruickshank (and Bertie the whippet!), 2nd October 2010
We stayed in Stanton for five nights and ate at The Mount every night. Not only was the food and service great, but it is a very dog friendly pub and our dog was looked after as well as we were! This pub has all the atmosphere and friendliness of a village pub, with the food and service of a great resaurant. We cannot praise it enough and fully intend to visit again soon.
Jill and Lin Bell, 19th July 2010
Upon visiting the Mount Inn a few weeks ago, we found Karl and Pip Baston offer the most elegant and tasty fare of all the pubs encountered in our nine years of walking the paths throughout England. My husband absolutely loved his chicken dish served with a delicious and original leek sauce and did not want to move on to our next stop the following day (nor did the rest of our group). What a wonderful setting to enjoy delicious food and what friendly and kind owners. If you are anywhere near the Mount Inn, you will not be disappointed no matter what you order!
Felicity Silman, 10th July 2010
Just had to say this place is the best!! Food.. tasty,imaginative,locally produced and not excessively priced, not even my Lobster Pasta which was so delicious all my friends ate it!! Marvellous Wine and guest Ale too.
Staff.. Young, Polite and efficient.
View and Location.. Just stunning. We came last Monday and had expected it to be quiet as most are at the beginning of the week but not so, would suggest booking if you are actually arranging to visit and not merely stumbling across this Gem as we did!
My daughter fell in love with the young man behind the Bar so we'll definitely be returning very soon!!

This Pub feels "with it" without having lost its character as so many have these days. Thanks to all those who made our evening so thoroughly enjoyable. See you soon, Felicity. x
Karen Tyler, 13th June 2010
My family and I have been to the Mount Inn many times over the past few years'. As the pub has changed hands several times the food too has often been pretty variable.Having now moved up to Inverness we were spending a nostalgic week in the Cotswolds.
We visited on 8th June 2010 and were delighted at what we found. New owners Pip and Karl Baston have done wonders. The menu is imaginative, well sourced and quite frankly delicious. We all had The Mountman's - the most exquisite ploughmans ever. My partner, who is Scottish had never tried a ploughmans before and he was really impressed !
A lovely place with a warm atmosphere and delicious, creative food. Highly recommended. Only wish we lived closer !
Many thanks for a lovely experience.
Mike & Christine O'Mahoney, 16th May 2010
Today, Sunday May 16th, we have been treated to a great meal. This is not our first meat at the Mount, so we knew what to expect.
We were on table 203, the meal was fabulous, the staff were exceptional, for politeness and attentive.
The door to outside has been changed BUT still needs to be addressed as it still 'slams' shut disturbing the diners in this area.
Secondly although the meal was great, I have the lamb shoulder, it would/could benifit with some aditional potatoes, 1.5 potatoes is not really enough for this size of meal.

These are VERY, VERY small issues, please carry on with this/your greaat service, we will certainly be back.

Kind regards

Mike & Christine O'Mahoney
Dav Wasdell Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway, 9th February 2010
On behalf of the signalmen's department I would like to pass on a big THANK YOU to Pip and her staff for a fantastic evening out last Saturday. The food was great and along with fantastic service, it made for a really enjoyable evening. All of my signalmen were extremely complimentary of the service received, so much so that I have been requested to book again for next year.
Dan Papworth, 30th December 2009
We enjoyed the mount Inn immensely. The food was excellent: good-sized portions and well presented. The drinks: good quality real ale and a well-thought-out wine list. The atmosphere: a proper pub ambience with real fire and tasteful decor. This is what public houses should aspire to nationwide.
David & Peggy-Ann Horton, Australia, 6th December 2009
It was a wet and windy night when we found the comfort of the Mount Inn on our trek down the Cotswold Way.
The food was a delightful surprise, a good few quality notches above that which we found in other country (and urban) pubs across England (the pie was a stunner). What made our night even more memorable was the enthusiastic passion of Karl and Pip; they obviously enjoyed delivering exemplary unstuffy service to whomever entered their cosy inn. It was also clear that they believed that the food we consume should be of wondrous quality . We left with smiles on our faces and heartily satisfied.
Go there and enjoy yourselves. You deserve the 'Mountain' experience and Karl and Pip deserve your support.
John Dyke, 11th October 2009
Gloucestershire has many great pubs and scenic locations, so to stand out from the crowd in this county is really saying something , but that is exactly what the Mount manages to do and it does it so well.

I have always enjoyed visiting the Mount and can only congratulate the current owners on the way they have taken over this fantastic pub and sought to preserve it's essence and character, whilst carefuly and tastefuly updating it.

It's not always the case that a pub which serves such great food ( and it really is good! ) also shows the same amount of care with it's beer and to those of us that enjoy Donningtons, this means a lot. Something else that the Mount exudes is hospitality and a genuine warmth of welcome and I can certainly say that this has been appreciated on our recent visits, whether it's with family and friends for a meal or just popping in for that excellent beer.

We shall certainly be popping back to the Mount as often as we can and wish the current owners every success.
Andrew and Kate Chapple, 2nd October 2009
We came across The Mount during a walk which originated from Broadway. It's great walking country round there and our OS map showed a Public House at our halfway point which is always useful, little did we know that it would be in such a beautiful setting.
We had a drink that time but impressed with what we saw, we came back on a mid-summer evening for am impressive meal (grilled fish)after a brisk uphill walk on the Cotswold Way towards Snowshill and then enjoyed the beautiful sunset from the west facing terrace. We hope to return and take advantage of the real fire in the Autumn/Winter.
Gabriel Savage, 25th August 2009
Review originally published at http://www.thedrinksbusiness.com/content/view/10321/333/

The Cotswolds is a veritable honey pot of country pubs, all promising rural nirvana and gentrified versions of yokel gastronomy, but not necessarily delivering on either.

Since being taken over last year by Carl and Pip Baston, The Mount Inn at Stanton has become one of the leading contenders in this crowded field, without (yet) becoming swamped by the trendy Cotswold crowd.

As a member of the local Donnington Brewery pub collection, you’ll find BB and the slightly richer SBA as the draught ales here, accompanied by quality ciders, Stowford Press and Addlestones. The wine list is surprisingly strong for a pub, with the house wines and several others available by the glass from £2.10.

An Old World bias nevertheless leaves plenty of variety for all tastes, including a particularly refreshing Touraine Sauvignon Blanc (£15.50 a bottle), top quality Prosecco from Vincenzo Toffoli (£20.50 a bottle), and robust southern Rhone complexity from the 2005 Raspail-Ay (£29.50 a bottle). Hine Cognac and Quintal do Noval Port keep up the quality levels behind the bar.

The food here is a distinct step up from the usual pub grub, without roaming into the dangerous territory of over-priced crocodile steaks. The printed menu offers a tempting selection of light snacks and pub classics, such as fish and chips – in Donnington ale batter of course – and Gloucester Old Spot bangers and mash, both for £9.95.

However, some of the best dishes appear on the daily specials: the steamed mussels are a regular feature here, arriving in a particularly tasty broth, either as a starter (£5.95) or a main (£11).

You might get lucky and time your visit with a recent delivery of fresh halibut or local venison. Some of the prices are higher than the average pub, but then so is the quality and you’re unlikely to have room for pudding, except possibly one of the ice creams produced a few miles down the road.

At any time of day, this is a picturesque spot to enjoy a pint, but the evening sunset with views stretching as far as the Black Mountains should soften even the most jaded character.

In winter, settle by the fire if the dogs will clear you a space and enjoy the disarmingly charming hospitality from Pip, or quiz Carl on the provenance, anatomy and preparation of the various dishes emerging from the kitchen.

As you can imagine, it’s worth reserving a table here if you’re looking for anything more substantial than a pint. The pub lies on the Cotswold Way and is understandably popular with walkers. You might decide to be one of them if you’re going to work up the appetite to do this place justice.
Tina and Charity 18th July 2009, 20th July 2009
Had a fantastic meal, slow roasted pork belly was the best Iv ever had, perfect. Great service, good value, warm welcome and fantastic views... will definately be back and will recommend to friends. Thank you for a lovely evening.
Matt Campbell, 16th July 2009
Definately worth the walk. Cant wait to roll my eggs at easter!
Rob miller, 5th June 2009
Cool site.
Sarah, 3rd April 2009
A warm and welcoming pub with fantastic food. We came all the way from New York for dinner at The Mount Inn and an evening at Shenberrow Hill. This year's visit did not disappoint. The food is local and fresh and very well made. The owners were inviting and friendly. We could spend many evenings next to the fire with our dog at our feet. Too bad we don't have something like this at home.
Keith and Sue Ward, 26th January 2009
Sue and I live in the Cotswolds and have visited probably every pub in the area. Without doubt, Pip and karl Baston have made the Mount Inn the best of the bunch. We knew they would, having been regulars at their previous pub where they became hugely popular (Plough, Cold Aston). Pip is delightful and Carl a wonderful chef who just loves his work. The food is exceptional, the ambience fantastic and there are no superlatives to give justice to the setting and views. We are regular contributors to the Good Pub Guide, having sent in reviews of over 80 pubs we have visited. We can honestly say that the Mount Inn, under Pip and Karl's stewardship, stands head and shoulders above all others.
chris and jill higgins, 17th January 2009
i have eaten at the mount and enjoyed a fantastic three coures pri fix at ony 15 pounds for scallops partridge and a pudding with local veg it was cooked so well i would have paid 15 for the partridge its self so the starter and pudding for us was a bounus will will return -- keep it up
jill
Alan Jones, 12th December 2008
Also published in the UCAS staff e-magazine.

After work on Friday 5 December, my brother and I set off to visit Broadway in the hope of picking up some Christmas spirit at one of the beautiful village’s late night Christmas shopping events.

This worked admirably, as we visited some lovely shops in a gorgeous setting, had complimentary mugs of hot chocolate and mulled wine thrust at us, grabbed a snack at one of two outdoor barbecues, saw delighted children riding in a horse drawn carriage with Santa Claus, and bumped into various elves, Victorian carol singers etc (needless to say, I too wore the silliest Christmas hat and sweater I could muster!).

Having partaken of all this wintry festive revelry, we headed off back towards Cheltenham. However, we were determined to stop at a pub we had never tried before for a swift pint – and if impressed, perhaps a bite to eat as well. So, not far from Broadway, just before you get back into Gloucestershire, we headed into the village of Stanton, and up a steep drive to the Mount Inn.

There we enjoyed an excellent pint of a locally brewed ale (Donnington’s SBA), had a pleasant chat with some of the locals and bar staff (in an atmosphere conducive to chat and devoid of music and fruit machines…indeed, one local dad was teaching his young son and daughter to play chess!).

We were indeed tempted to try the fare, and it was exquisite. Both of us plumped for the locally sourced pan seared venison on bubble and squeak with winter vegetables and a jus of thyme and juniper berries with baby onions from the specials board. It was pure melt-in-the-mouth heaven and very reasonably priced at £13.50.

Also on the specials board were dishes like pan seared scallops served on celeriac puree with a thickened jus (£6.50 starter/£13 main), local partridge on bubble and squeak with chestnut, baby onion and bacon jus (£12.95) and lightly breaded deep fried brie served with a red wine, cranberry and orange sauce (£5.50); while the main menu boasted tomato and chickpea curry with saffron rice (£9.50), Gloucester Old Spot sausage served on cheddar mash with a rich jus (£9.95). And for those with a sweet tooth, how about elderflower cream or Christmas pudding flavoured local Herefordshire ice cream? Or Hayles’ Blenheim apple fritter? They even offered a locally sourced cheeseboard, boasting a selection of five Cotswold cheeses.

With an open log fire warming the bar and outside terrace area with tables (which must be wonderful in the summer, giving a lovely view over the surrounding countryside), we were mightily impressed and well satisfied.

... So much so in fact, that I have even sent a report to the Good Pub Guide.

Submit a review

Your Name


Your email address (not for publication)


Your review


Please type the code shown into the box (this is to prevent 'spam' submissions)