About The Mount at Stanton
The Mount, as the name suggests, stands on the mount at the end of the village of Stanton, near Broadway. It is one of the prettiest & idyllic unspoilt villages in the Cotswolds with its ancient houses built from the honey coloured limestone quarried from Shenberrow Hill above the pub. The pubs unique position provides the most spectacular panoramic views across the Vale of Evesham towards the Malvern Hills & even the Black Welsh mountains beyond. On a summer's evening it is the most perfect spot to watch the sunset & enjoy a pint of Donnington Brewery's traditional ale.
The 17th century village pub is one of the Donnington Brewery's beautiful tied houses & alongside the brewery's traditional beers offers a varied menu that serves to refresh the weary rambler, offer a quick bite for the locals or, if you prefer, the full 3 course experience. Our excellent food is prepared freshly to order and uses locally sourced ingredients where possible. For the warmer months there is a large garden & terraced area for relaxing al fresco.
The pub provides a welcome pitstop for exploring the adjoining village of Stanway with its beautiful Jacobean Stanway House & gardens boasting the largest gravity fed fountain in the world, in addition to the historic towns of Broadway, & Winchcombe with attractions such as Broadway Tower, Sudeley Castle and the Gloucestershire & Warwickshire Steam Railway. It is even possible to hear the peep peep of the locomotives from the pub's terraced area!
The Mount also provides a welcome sanctuary for outdoor enthusiasts. It is located on the Cotswold Way National Trail and Stanton is a favourite destination walk from Broadway and a serves as a great resting place after a long horse-riding hack available from the excellent stables in the village. A large inglenook fire place awaits you where you can dry out & keep warm.
A range of pub games are on offer as well as good food and good beer.
The village inn was not always known as The Mount & had not always been a pub. The building dates back to the early 17th century when it was originally a farmhouse. Sometime later it became a "cobbler shop", tea room and then an off-licence.
"The Bank" as it was known in 1897 became under the ownership of Donnington Brewery when it was sold to Richard Arkell on 11th October for the princely sum of £604. The brewery's first tenant to their new pub was John Troughton followed by Samuel B Richardson who then passed it onto his son Billy Richardson who successfully ran it until 27th July 1962. Billy is now our friendly house ghost!
We know it to be an off-licence for a number of years as it did not gain its license until 1947 at a cost of £1000. Prior to this time it had become known as "The Five Elms" with no drink allowed to be sold on the premises. However the tenants answer to this was to produce cider from the outbuilding situated in the current car park to be drunk on the other side of the gate by five elm trees that are no longer in existence today. The punters were attracted outside by the erection of a dart board, whom of which must have been fantastic players because if they missed the board they lost their darts in the trees!
In modern times, the reputation of this out-of-the-way inn for good company and good beer & amazing views has spread far and wide, yet it retains all its' village friendliness, its' ancient timbers steeped in 500 years of hospitality.
Master Pip and his owner Michael with a pint of Donnington's BB